• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Apistogramma Breeding Racks

RockyProndoa

Hello all - I just discovered this website/forum after having been in the hobby for 30+ years...not sure how I missed it, but I sure am glad I found it!

I'm rather new to the Apisto world, so I'm expecting a lot of trial and error, but I'm also banking on eliminating as much as I can through my own experiences and the experience of others, hence my post here. I've been keeping fish for 30+ years, and currently have a 200g saltwater reef system, a 75g high-tech planted tank, and a 40g rainbowfish tank. Much like any other hobby, I always want more, so on to my next adventure below.

I'm currently in the planning stages of setting up a rack of aquariums specifically for breeding Apistos. My initial thought is 4 rows of 4 tanks each (16 total) - each tank being a 20L. To make water changes easier, each tank will be drilled through the end/back for a drain, and all of the individual tank drains will tie into a central drain that will flow into the floor drain in my basement. My city water pH runs about 7.5, so I plan to refill the tanks with simple tap water (though I do have an RODI system for my saltwater reef that would be at my disposal if reconstituting top-off water would be a better option?). Each tank will utilize a sponge filter with a single linear piston air pump. Additionally, each tank will have a small heater (as my basement typically runs around 66-70F depending on season). Lastly, I will DIY sliding glass lid tops for each tank.