• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Advice on setup and choosing my first Apistogramma

KatieA

Hello

I’m fairly new to fishkeeping and have cycled another tank that came my way. I have the bug!

Im in England and have hard water. This time I’ve gone for a planted tank (caribsea eco complete substrate mixed with a bit of black gravel). As the tank was cycling, the PH dropped a bit but now seems to have gone back up. Todays parameters using NTLabs

PH 8
Ammonia 0
Nitrite 0.25
Nitrate 0
KH 13
GH 18

There are no fish in the tank as I would like to get Apistogramma for the first time and get it right.

The tank isn’t very big 58x41x30 (approximately 70litres or 15g unplanted) but I’m hoping for smaller Apistogramma couple and could have harem of females if it was felt tank was sufficient enough. Please excuse my attempt at a woody tree! It won’t stay stuck to its rock and so I’ve weighted it and laid it down. Currently two “cave” options. I’m about to setup a 200litre tank so I hope that I can use this one eventually as an established breeding tank (if they breed).

I would love a colourful species of Apistogramma and I seem to go round and round looking at Dwarf Cockatoo, Borellii and many more but I appreciate that I have hard water and inexperience will limit me.

What are your recommendations?

Attachments

• 84A5DB93-E854-425A-89C8-7E1BB6D56638.jpeg
    84A5DB93-E854-425A-89C8-7E1BB6D56638.jpeg
    2.3 MB · Views: 196
  • A7DB03DF-1F01-45EE-9F82-6D2015043C6E.jpeg
    A7DB03DF-1F01-45EE-9F82-6D2015043C6E.jpeg
    3.6 MB · Views: 201

MacZ