• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

My first apistogrammas

Miss ATV

Hi all,

I am very new to keeping Apistogramma. I have 2 (1 male and 1 female Cacatuoides) in a 15gal tank together with 6 Penguin tetras.

The current male I just got from an excellent online shop. Originally I had purchased a male&female from a local pet store and the male was much smaller and died after 4 weeks. Turns out there was an ammonia increase in the tank 1ppm(I measured it when I found him on the bottom of the tank displaying sings of nitrate poisoning - curled body, gasping) and I think that's what got him. My fault completely I was late 1 day with the water change and I found a spot with tons of poo which I obviously missed when cleaning the gravel the previous weeks. Lesson learned, in hindsight I think he was also stunted since he wasnt growing at all and was very small compared to the female.

I have a few questions please if you can advise me:

1. The new male I got is a lot bigger than my female, at the moment he flares up occasionally to her but doesnt insist when she is not interested. Could this be a problem if he becomes more brave? Is there any risk of him attacking/killing her since she is so small?
He is about 6cm she is about 2-2.5cm

2.How often do you recommend feeding? Currently I feed the tetras every other day and the apisto directly from a pipette daily a few hikari micro pellets. Once a week I feel brine shrimp and blood worms. Is it too much/enough?

3. How much water changes to do weekly? I do now about 20-30% once a week

Any other advice is welcomed please, I have attached some photos of the fish.

Thanks!

Male