• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Test kits for GH and KH?

Joe Digiorgio

Hi everyone I’m new here and new to keeping and breeding wild strain apistos and a few other blackwater fish from down that way. I am currently getting into some wild Apistogramma, altum angels and wild Heckel discus. These are projects I’ve been dreaming of for many years.

I’ve been searching here and elsewhere and can’t find consistently recommended test kits for these parameters, especially when working with low numbers. I’ve tried not to even think about my pH as I fully understand the chemistry of very soft water and it’s dynamic consequences regarding pH. I’d love to shoot for 4-5ish but trying to look the other way LOL

My TDS readings are in the high 40s, I do RO water changes weekly to keep it there. I don’t have an exact microsiemens measurement, only TDS and I’d like to use my GH and KH readings as a general guide.

Thanks in advance.
Joe

dw1305

5 Year Member
Hi all,
.....My TDS readings are in the high 40s, I do RO water changes weekly to keep it there. I don’t have an exact microsiemens measurement, only TDS and I’d like to use my GH and KH readings as a general guide.

Thanks in advance.
Joe
A titrimetric kit like this <"Hanna one">, would be your best bet. I think all Aquarium kits really <"measure alkalinity"> and then assume that most of the hardness is from CaCO3.