• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Would this tank be overstocked?

R

rijac

i have a 23G community tank which i intend to be south american species.... its planted and my goal is to end up with:

10 neons
3 corys
3 ottos
1 sae
4 hatchetfish
1 male and 3 female apisto borelli
handful of shrimp

would this tank be considered to be very overstocked? would it be better with only a pair of apistos?

thanks!

Griz

5 Year Member
IMO I would stick with just a pair of borelli- maybe 2f/ 1m at most. That would give you a nicely stocked tank I think. What kind of shrimps? I'm no expert on them but have heard of problems with apistos and some species.

aspen

5 Year Member
that tank could be very nice as is, provided you take into account that each of those females needs a bit of space for herself. if it is your first foray into s/a dwarfs, i would heed the advice of Griz and use only 2 females. you will be sure to have more to stock when they start breeding once you've got the hang of that very nice dwarf species. personally i would not use the cories, they will eat your spawns with relish ime.
there are different species of hatchets. some prefer warmer water like the silvers, and they grow quite large. if i'm not mistaken, the marthae's and the marbled stay smaller and prefer cooler water. keep any tetras species in groups of 6 or more, the silvers are quite agressive ime.

i stay away from neons, they are not very hardy generally, cardinals (once established) seem much more hardy.