• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Water conditions for Dwarf Cichlids

W

Wiley

I have been keeping various apistos and other SA dwarves for a couple of years now, but I seem to have a little trouble keeping the water conditions stable. I either have low pH from my RO unit go up over time or I get crashes and loose fish. Does anyone have any suggestions?

Neil

Wiley,
Typically both problems can be handled by buffering the water in one way or another. The other suggestion is good old water changes. If you do water changes with at least a little tap water it will provide some stability to the water to help avoid crashes. But if your water changes are regular enough and your bio-load is small enough (amount of fish and food, etc.)there usually is not a chance for the waste products to build up in the tank to cause crashes.
There are many factors involved in pH and there are many ways to alter and control it, but I have found that if you don't try to do too much you are better off. Try peat-filtering. This is a short-term solution, but it will help and has the added benefit of adding other elements to the water that can be beneficial for breeding.
Maybe someone else has some ideas about stabilizing pH!? Neil

aspen

5 Year Member
how are you checking ph? electronic ph meters are not accurate when measuring r/o or very soft water. (check the manual)

keeping water stable at low hardness levels and ph is an art. i have not been able to master it, luckily my first venture into apistos is with a cacatuoides, and they are reputed to breed fine in my tapwater. (hooray!)

rick

Neil

aspen,