• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

[QUESTION] Water Parameters

DrunkenAlcoholic

Hello peoples,
I am just getting into keeping dwarf cichlids and would like to know if the following parameters are suitable for breeding conditions. I have ordered TDS meter from ebay so TDS ppm wont be included until I get the meter

My Tap Water:
7.2 - 7.6 Ph
3 GH
3 KH

In aquarium with driftwood:
6.4 - 6.8 Ph
3 GH
2 KH

Species wanting to keep:
Quad red Cacatuoides
Orange Flash Cacatuoides
Agassizi Fire Gold
Apistogramma Sp.Tefe

Currently have a rack with 4 x 2ft and 1 x 4ft tanks, also have another 6ft and 4ft but I prefer to keep these apistorgramma's in the rack, the current fish that's there now is

Aquariums on the rack:
#1 4Ft L x 1.5ft W x 1ft H(178 liters)
Albino Corydora x 4, neon tetra x 7, Harlequin rasbora x 4

#2 2ft L x 1.5ft W x 1ft H(89 Liters)
L397 x 10

#3 2ft L x 1.5ft W x 1ft H(89 Liters)
L007 x 10

#4 2ft L x 1.5ft W x 1ft H(89 Liters)
Royal Whiptails x 6

#5 2ft L x 1.5ft W x 1ft H(89 Liters)
Growout tank, currently Red terror Festae's and Albino bristlenose.

So based on my water parameters and what I would like to keep and what tanks I have with current fish in them, can you point me in the right direction so I get a good start, All the rack tanks utilize 1 or more hamburg mattern filter with power heads, I have doubled the recommended surface area for the mattern filters to insure I am over filtering.

o5caz9.jpg

2ufvbfc.jpg

Last edited:

gerald

5 Year Member