• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Preparing for apisto cacatuoides, Questions

Cubeology

5 Year Member
Hi, while I have a decade and a half experience with aquaria, I am completely new to apistos. I have one pair of apisto cacauoides arriving next week and I am trying to set up my 18 gallon tank for their arrival.

I have a couple pieces of driftwood that have curves on their bottom that shape nicely like caves. I see that most people use these little clay pots but I have an aversion to artificial objects in my tank and would like to make the driftwood work. I have pretty much complete control over how large the cave is, and the opening for that matter by hollowing out the space in the substrate. What would a good size be for the inside of the cave and the opening? Will they spawn in a driftwood cave like this?

As far as dither fish, is there anything other than pencilfish that will work and not cause problems with fry? I have nothing against pencilfish, but neither my LFS or Petco have them at this time. I have neon tetras in another tank that I could move over without having to worry about QT, but appears that I am being told that they are not good for this.