• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Male apisto cac go in discus tank?

traco

5 Year Member
I've put a couple of posts here as I'm new to apistos. Quick info, I have 2 males and 2 females in a 29 gallon planted tank. Females are turning bright yellow which says spawning could happen. One male is alpha, the other one gets chased around by him.

Can I put this less dominant male into a discus tank? Temp is 85, tank is a 90 gallon with 6 discus, 4 angels, 6 cories, 2 plecos. A couple of pieces of driftwood with anubias and java fern attached, a few silk plants, skim coat of sand for substrate. Will he be fine in there?

I also have a 33 gallon planted but it has shrimp in there and I'm thinking they would be a snack for the apisto? Or would he leave them alone? There are platies, guppies, shrimp, cories, pleco in the 33

Some help and guidance would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Galactic Doug

5 Year Member
Hi
Sometimes people can be a bit busy here and might not get back right away.. I personally would just say that the Apistos are not geared towards 85degree water as most like it around 76-80 with normal breeding in the middle somewhere(species interdependant). The 30 would be the better bet but consider that Apistos are cichlids and therefore eat (small) meaty things like shrimps if they can. What size are the cichlids versus the shrimps? If the shrimps are very small to small sized and the Apistos are medium to large it is probably safe to assume they would at least bite at if not totally harm the shrimps. (especially if the shrimps are molting for growth, they shed there exoskeletons for a small period).