• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Looking for a list of the basics

awholley

5 Year Member
I am a newly-returning hobbyist who as a teenager had bred about 20 species of common cichlids.

[ skip 30 years..]

I'm now interested in trying my hand at some more advanced species and techniques, and have targeted Apistogramma species as my first attempts.

I have no equipment or tanks whatsoever, so I am looking for recommendations on what I need to maintain, say 3 pairs or trios of different species at a time.

Specifically, I'm looking for recommendations on:

Breeding tank size (10 gal? bigger?)

Filters (sponge, undergravel, external, box)0000

Substrate

Water chemistry maintenance treatments/chemicals/RO/etc.
(water here is hard, slightly alkaline and treated with chloramine)

Other "tools of the trade" you guys use regularly.

Books with practical information

Species to start with?
I have always wanted to try A. reitzigi, A. agassizii, A. cacatuoides and
A. borellii

All help and mentoring will be greatly appreciated!

Alan Holley
Plano, TX

cootwarm

5 Year Member
Hi Allen,

I use 10 gallon, 20 gallon, and 30 gallon tanks for my apistos. Of these sizes the 30 gallon long size is the best by far. It's fairly roomy yet I can move it by myself if I need to. It's a good size for a trio of apistos (1m&2f) with some tetras and/or pencilfish for dithers. Add a nice piece of driftwood, a few plants and a couple caves (I use Java Moss covered coconut shell halves) and everyone will be comfortable and feel right at home. Of course larger is always better, so a 55 gallon is better yet.