• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Howdy

Voozle

Hello! I've made my way over from a couple of planted aquarium forums, and in visiting this community I hope to hone my uneducated interest in dwarf cichlids. I've been keeping freshwater fish for almost two years, and I consider aquatic plants essential to any setup. Last summer I was fortunate to observe my Pelvicachromis pulcher pair breed and raise almost four dozen young. Easily my most memorable experience so far, and (perhaps arrogantly, as I had little to do with the parents' success) my proudest achievement, the spawning prompted my journey here. It also contributed to my waning enthusiasm for precision 'aquascaping' and my growing aspirations for further breeding experience.

Currently, I am working to prepare a 20L in hopes of housing another dwarf cichlid pair. The tank was recently upgraded from a 10 gallon and should be fully cycled, so I hope to begin stocking soon. I look forward to learning what I can on these boards about Apistogramma cichlids, and to making the acquaintance of other dedicated hobbyists. Nice to meet you all!

Oh! I'm excited to see that these forum boards are run by Ted Judy, one of few names I recognize in the hobby. Tropical Fish Hobbyist magazine has guided and inspired me - and many others, I'm sure - during my venture into the fishkeeping, and his (or your, if reading this) articles and more recently breeding contest are my among favorite installments. The article "Five 'Easy' Tetras" in the August 2009 issue, specifically, sparked my interest in breeding, although my own endeavors with tetras did not amount to much.

briztoon