• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

how many apisto's can I put in a 20 gallon long?

DustinB32

5 Year Member
Hi, I'm new to the world of apisto's but not new to the world of cichlids. Been keeping sa/ca cichlids for the past couple years and thought I would try these guys out. I just started a planted aquarium about a week ago. Anyway... I figured I would start out with apistogramma cacatuoides. How many could I get for a 20 gallon long. I was really considering 1 male to 3 females but from what I've read a 20g long doesnt seem big enough for the females to establish their own territories. Would i be better off with 1 male and 2 females or just try a single pair. I was also considering a pair of Apistogramma agassizii and a pair of
apistogramma cacatuoides. Suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

dw1305

5 Year Member
Hi all,
Welcome DustinB32, I think you'll enjoy being an Apistogramma keeper. Have a look at this thread, it should answer most of your questions.

<http://www.forum.apistogramma.com/showthread.php?t=8531>

I'd also suggest having a look at Bob Wiltshire's (ApistoBob) Web site. It has really useful advice for habitat, water etc. and Bob's practical experience of keeping many dwarf cichlids (he is also a member).

<http://www.dwarfcichlid.com/index.php>

Final point I'd make would be that A. cacatuoides is fairly forgiving, but I would recommend leaving your planted tank to establish for at least 6 weeks before adding any Apistogrammas, this gives time for the plants to establish, the water to stabilise and a healthy biofilm develop.

cheers Darrel

DustinB32

5 Year Member