• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Help with my tank? (With a little "what do I have" thrown in...)

saturniidae

Hello folks!

I'm new to apistogramma, and I suppose I'm still new to fishkeeping in general. Last April I dove into keeping neocaridina shrimp, got a serious case of Multiple Tank Syndrome, and well... let's just say I work at my local fish store now haha (Seriously, props to my LFS owner & boss for putting up with me.)

When I set up my 20gal long, I made the same mistake a lot of new users here make: I conflated community tanks with breeding tanks. I saw apistogramma commonly listed as popular "centerpiece" fish for community tanks, and read that a 20gal was perfect for a pair. I stuck 8 rummynose tetras and 6 pygmy cories in my tank and set out to find my dream fish.

I found the pair I was looking for last week - A. agassizii, from a local hobbyist. (They were sold to me as "triple red" but... I think they're double red? Does triple even exist in agassizii? Whatever they are, I think they're both stunning!) I brought them home, drip-lined them for a nice long time, and added them to the tank.