• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Blue Rams - eaten eggs

E

erik_dgcc

Hi everyone. I'm new to this sight and hope you can help. I have 9 rams along with some other fish in a 75 gallon tank. One pair of blue rams have laid eggs for the second time :D . The first time my tank was not fully cycled and the eggs were eaten :( by whom I don't know. This time my tank is cycled and I noticed the eggs last night on one of my silk plants. What should I do this time to make sure the eggs survive? Any help would by greatly appreciated.

aspen

5 Year Member
you can remove the eggs and hatch them artificially, or you can remove the pair away from the pressure of their tankmates and hope they spawn for you. ime, in a community setting rams will eat their eggs or fry before other species get them. it is their way of preserving their energy for themselves, instead of letting other species getting it.

rick

Charlotte

5 Year Member
this worked for me...

Dear Erik,

I have had success waiting for a couple tp pair up, and then putting them in their own 10 gal right before they are ready to spawn. You will know they are going to when you see them pair up, the female's belly is somewhat plump and turning darker, and they may get more aggressive. The biggest signs are if they start cleaning a site and/or drop breeding tubes. I then put them in their own tank that has already been cycled.