• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

A.macmasteri help with egg eating? To pull eggs?

Apsnake

hi all I have a pair of macmasteri i was sold as viejita and they have spawned 3 times and eaten the eggs every time after the female guarding for several days and then revert to male chasing female. The normal advice is to leave them to adjust to breeding and they should get it. Problem is I can't get these fish locally and recently suffered losing my a.trifasciata male and not being able to get another for 150 miles! I'm paranoid now to say the least. The trifasciata has now been replaced luckily but these won't be so easy. So I want to artificially hatch a spawn. I have looked a lot online but not tons of info enough to get the basics but because it's my first time I would like more assistance. I would like to ensure at least a few fry survive to continue the bloodline and keep them in my tanks and am considering pulling the eggs to get that first spawn. After this I'm happy to let them do their own thing. Any and all help with this subject is really appreciated as I'm torn what to do and don't feel confident playing with the eggs and hydrogen peroxide methylene blue correct water flow etc etc. And would like the reassurance of someone who is more experienced on the matter.
Thank you in advance

Ttw

5 Year Member